Interview with Victoria Cornwall

Today, we welcome historical fiction author Victoria Cornwall to the Lost in Books blog. Victoria invites readers to step into her world featuring vivid romantic heroines and the problems they encounter, all set against the magnificent backdrops of Cornwall. Perfect for fans of Poldark, each one of her books offer something different, whether they're set beside the coast, along the streets of Cornish villages, or among the wild and untamed moors.

Join us as we talk about her latest book, Daniel's Daughter, learn about what led her to writing in the first place, and discover what's next in line for her work.

Tell us about your latest book, Daniel’s Daughter, and where your inspiration for the story came from?

Thank you for having me on your blog, I’m delighted to be here.

Daniel’s Daughter is a tale about truth. Is telling the truth always the right thing to do? Is there a right time to tell it? Do we always want to hear it? In Daniel’s Daughter, Grace, the heroine of the novel, discovers a family secret which turns her world upside down. The novel is about how she reacts to discovering the secret and how she eventually learns that telling the truth is not always as easy as it should be. We think honesty is always the right thing, but life is complicated, people are complicated, and telling the truth is not always so black and white.

The story was inspired by my second book in the Cornish Tales series, The Captain’s Daughter. Although all the books in the series are stand-alone tales and can be read in any order, The Captain’s Daughter ended with a family secret. I always wondered what would happen if that secret was exposed in the most hurtful way. How would the characters react? How would they survive such betrayal? I had to find out, so Daniel’s Daughter was created.

You write sweeping historical fiction set in Cornwall. What draws you to writing in this genre?

The type of books I like to read are historical romances, so it felt natural to write in that genre. I am fascinated by history and how people lived in the past, with all its problems and inequalities. I am also intrigued by how people react and overcome the difficulties they face in life.  A person’s ability to cope and overcome their problems are often influenced by their past, their character, and/or their agenda. All these influences can make a compelling story, with many twists and turns. I enjoy reading books like this and thought others might too, so one day I sat down with my laptop and tried to write one!

Did you always want to write? Which books and authors do you think have influenced your writing most of all, and why?

Yes, I’ve always enjoyed writing. As a child, I was a prolific letter writer and loved writing stories at school. I even wrote a little book when I was about 11 years old! I still have it, the story is terrible and the spelling atrocious, but it does show that even at that age I aspired to be a writer. However, lack of time and self-confidence were major stumbling blocks and prevented me writing a book earlier. I finally sat down and wrote a first draft when I was in my forties. Winston Graham’s Poldark series was a huge influence on my writing style. Other notable novels that have influenced my writing are Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte and Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen.

How do you think Cornwall has shaped your writing career? Do you have a favourite place in Cornwall to set your books?

The county of Cornwall has played a major role in my writing career. I can trace my Cornish family tree back to the 1700s and am proud to be Cornish, born and bred. Many writers set their books in Cornwall as it is a beautiful backdrop to any story. However, Cornwall is more than just a beautiful county. It has its own unique history, traditions, festivals, language, celebrations, dances, music, and food. The Cornish have a unique sense of humour, which is hard to define, and a pragmatic approach to life. The county also has its own myths, legends and folklore too. I aim to show this side of Cornwall in my books so the reader can truly immerse themselves into my fictional Cornish community and hopefully feel part of that community, or at least a quiet observer who is standing only a few feet away. I don’t have a favourite place to set my books, I am happy to use it all; whether it’s the dark confines of Bodmin Jail or the open, rugged tors of the moor; the dramatic natural beauty of the coastline or the industrial landscape of the clay lands. Every part of Cornwall is unique and worthy of a mention in one of my books.

What can readers expect from you next?

I am currently writing a WW2 novel set in Cornwall. At present, I am in the research and planning phase. When a reader buys one of my books, they are placing their trust in me to tell a good yarn. I want to do justice to the people who lived through WW2 and I want my readers to have a satisfying experience. Both are daunting goals, so I am taking my time to get it right. Since 2017, I have had six novels published. There is no guarantee that my next one will be accepted for publication, but it has a better chance if it meets the same standard of my previous novels.

Thank you for having me on your blog. I have enjoyed answering your questions and I wish you all the best.

Victoria Cornwall grew up on a farm in Cornwall. After fulfilling careers in nursing and business, she finally found the time to write.

Victoria’s writing has been shortlisted for the New Talent Award at the Festival of Romantic Fiction and twice nominated for the RONÉ “Best Indie or Small Published book” Award. In 2017, her debut novel, The Thief’s Daughter, was a finalist for the Romantic Novelists’ Association’s Joan Hessayon Award.

Victoria is married and has two grown up children. She likes to write historical fiction with a strong background story, but at its heart is the unmistakable emotion, even pain, of loving someone.

If you want to find out more about Victoria, you can visit her official website, or follow her on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and Pinterest.

 

You can order Daniel's Daughter or any of Victoria's books from us by browsing our website or using our online order form here. Don't forget you can also follow us on Twitter and Instagram for all our latest announcements, updates and book news. Happy reading!

1 comment

  • A lovely interview and good to find out more about one of my favourite Cornish authors!

    Angela Britnell

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published